Installation/Creating your first application

A place for users and developers of the Xataface to discuss and receive support.

Installation/Creating your first application

Postby chm » Sat Aug 08, 2009 6:51 am

Hi everybody

I am posting for the first time here.
Steve, first of all: This is a fantastic piece of software; very good idea and obviously very well done! Thanks for sharing with us!

I played around with Xataface on my local machine and everything worked perfectly.
However I run into some problems when I tried to create applications on a shared hosting (I tried 3 different servers). Everything is fine when I am pointing to dataface/dataface_info.php ("Installed correctly").
Now, pointing to index.php it says:

Warning: require_once() [function.require-once.php]: URL file-access is disabled in the server configuration in /home/domain/public_html/folder/index.php on line 2

Warning: require_once(http://www.domain.com/folder/xataface/d ... ic-api.php) [function.require-once.php]: failed to open stream: no suitable wrapper could be found in /home/domain/public_html/folder/index.php on line 2

Fatal error: require_once() [function.require.php]: Failed opening required 'http://www.domain.com/folder/xataface/dataface-public-api.php' (include_path='.:/usr/local/lib/php') in /home/domain/public_html/folder/index.php on line 2


My index.php looks like this:

Code: Select all
require_once 'http://www.domain.com/folder/xataface/dataface-public-api.php';
df_init(__FILE__, 'http://www.domain.com/folder/xataface');
$app =& Dataface_Application::getInstance();
$app->display();


What am I doing wrong? Or are there already at this stage some server side PHP restrictions involved?
chm
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 6:13 am
Location: Switzerland

Postby mikep » Sun Aug 09, 2009 10:29 pm

Hey,

Have you tried looking in your web server's error log?

You also might try changing the path for the "require_once" line to the absolute path in your file system (i.e. /srv/www/htdocs/xataface/dataface-public-api.php, this varies based on your OS and which web server you're running). Thats how it is in both of my installations.


Mike
mikep
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 2:21 pm

Postby chm » Mon Aug 10, 2009 2:59 am

mikep,

that was it! So simple, I just adjusted the path to the server's file system...
I am really sorry for bothering you with this!

Now it works, although I only get a very basic site, just white and some links. Obviously it doesn't load the css style sheet.

Could you get me a second hint?
Many thanks in advance!
chm
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 6:13 am
Location: Switzerland

Postby mikep » Mon Aug 10, 2009 7:23 am

Hey,

That usually happens when the df_init(__FILE__, line has the incorrect url. For instance if you have 'http://localhost/folder/xataface' in your index.php file and try to access http://www.domain.com/folder/xataface/index.php from your web browser.


Mike
mikep
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 2:21 pm

Postby chm » Mon Aug 10, 2009 9:31 am

Brilliant!
Now it works. Obviously as a non programmer I got a little confused about the different paths.

In case somebody is stumbling as well in the future and is looking in the forum:

index.php
* require_once needs the absolute path of your server's file system (in my case it was: '/home/user/public_html/folder/xataface/dataface-public-api.php')

* df_init(__FILE__, needs the url of your xataface installation (e.g. 'http://www.domain.com/folder/xataface')

mikep, many thanks for your help!
chm
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 6:13 am
Location: Switzerland

Postby shannah » Mon Aug 10, 2009 10:32 am

In case somebody is stumbling as well in the future and is looking in the forum:

index.php
* require_once needs the absolute path of your server's file system (in my case it was: '/home/user/public_html/folder/xataface/dataface-public-api.php')

* df_init(__FILE__, needs the url of your xataface installation (e.g. 'http://www.domain.com/folder/xataface')


Just want to make a comment this you can also use relative paths for these. E.g.
Code: Select all
require_once 'xataface/dataface-public-api.php';
df_init(__FILE__, 'xataface');


But absolute paths are fine too.

The Xataface installer uses absolute paths because it may not have complete knowledge of where your application will end up.

Both ways are fine.
shannah
 
Posts: 4457
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm


Return to Xataface Users

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests

cron
Powered by Dataface
© 2005-2007 Steve Hannah All rights reserved