question

A place for users and developers of the Xataface to discuss and receive support.

Postby j70861 » Fri Aug 25, 2006 4:05 pm

hi i«m new with this and i have a litlle problem, i did all the instalation with no problems except for a little thing, when i want to go to where i put my index.php file, i reiceve just a blank screen.
i did the database and check the instalation.
thanks
P.D. sorry for my english
j70861
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Postby shannah » Fri Aug 25, 2006 4:18 pm

Okay, looks like an error is being thrown but you have display errors turned off.

The easiest thing is to locate your error log and check what the error is.

You can try to get the errors to print to the screen. Add the following to the beginning of your index.php file:

Code: Select all
ini_set('display_errors', 'on');
error_reporting(E_ALL);

...


If that doesn't do it, then the error must be ocurring in the parsing stage. In such a case you would have to turn on error reporting in the php.ini file. Find your php.ini file (if you have access to it) and add the line display_errors = on

Hope this helps a little.

-Steve
--
Steve Hannah
@shannah78 (on twitter)
sjhannah.com blog
shannah
 
Posts: 4457
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Postby j70861 » Sat Aug 26, 2006 11:52 am

hi steve, these were the answers that i get, i hope that you can help me thanks

Warning: main(http://www.museotamayo.org/php/dataface/dataface-public-api.php): failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.1 401 Authorization Required in /home/virtual/site18/fst/var/www/html/museotamayo_org_-_prueba/index.php on line 4

Fatal error: main(): Failed opening required 'http://www.museotamayo.org/php/dataface/dataface-public-api.php' (include_path='.:/php/includes:/usr/share/php') in /home/virtual/site18/fst/var/www/html/museotamayo_org_-_prueba/index.php on line 4

Jacobo
j70861
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Postby shannah » Sat Aug 26, 2006 2:08 pm

Hi Jacobo,

Can you post your index.php file? I think you are specifying the url to dataface rather than the path.

On one of the first lines you probably have:
require_once 'http://www.museotamayo.org/php/dataface/dataface-public-api.php';

When it should be the path - or something like:
require_once '/path/to/dataface/public-public-api.php';

Hope this helps.

-Steve
--
Steve Hannah
@shannah78 (on twitter)
sjhannah.com blog
shannah
 
Posts: 4457
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Postby shannah » Sat Aug 26, 2006 4:21 pm

Hi Jacobo,

Can you post your index.php file? I think you are specifying the url to dataface rather than the path.

On one of the first lines you probably have:
require_once 'http://www.museotamayo.org/php/dataface/dataface-public-api.php';

When it should be the path - or something like:
require_once '/path/to/dataface/public-public-api.php';

Hope this helps.

-Steve
--
Steve Hannah
@shannah78 (on twitter)
sjhannah.com blog
shannah
 
Posts: 4457
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Postby j70861 » Sat Aug 26, 2006 10:25 pm

hi steve,
this is how you my index.php file is
display();
?>
and when i change the 4 line with womething like this

display();
?>

i get this error

Warning: main(): Unable to access /var/www/html/php/dataface/dataface-public-api.php in /home/virtual/site18/fst/var/www/html/museotamayo_org_-_prueba/index.php on line 4

Warning: main(/var/www/html/php/dataface/dataface-public-api.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/virtual/site18/fst/var/www/html/museotamayo_org_-_prueba/index.php on line 4

Fatal error: main(): Failed opening required '/var/www/html/php/dataface/dataface-public-api.php' (include_path='.:/php/includes:/usr/share/php') in /home/virtual/site18/fst/var/www/html/museotamayo_org_-_prueba/index.php on line 4

by the way i put on my website server with hosting
i hope you can help me,
Jacobo
j70861
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Postby shannah » Sat Aug 26, 2006 11:52 pm

Okay.. evidently it is not able to access your dataface directory given the path you provided. Could be the wrong path, or could be a permissions problem.

Where is your index.php page located? And where is the dataface directory relative to that page. You may want to use a relative path if you can't get the absolute path working.

-Steve
--
Steve Hannah
@shannah78 (on twitter)
sjhannah.com blog
shannah
 
Posts: 4457
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Postby j70861 » Sun Aug 27, 2006 10:13 am

hi,
my index.php is located is this

http://www.museotamayo.org/museotamayo_org_-_prueba/index.php

and the dataface directory

http://www.museotamayo.org/php/dataface

and when i acces my website admin via is

/var/www/html/museotamayo_org_-_prueba/index.php

and

/var/www/html/php/dataface

Thanks
Jacobo
j70861
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Postby shannah » Sun Aug 27, 2006 2:09 pm

There are a couple of possibilities here.

1. You do not have permission to access some of the parent directories in the path to dataface so it fails to import.

2. It looks like there is actually some path before the /var/www/.. For example, the error indicated that your index.php script is located at /home/virtual/site18/fst/var/www/html/museotamayo_org_-_prueba/index.php

Perhaps try using the path /home/virtual/site18/fst/var/www/php/dataface for your dataface path.

Alternatively, you could use the relative path to dataface, which would be
'../php/dataface'

Hope this helps.

-Steve
--
Steve Hannah
@shannah78 (on twitter)
sjhannah.com blog
shannah
 
Posts: 4457
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Postby j70861 » Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:08 pm

hi steve,
when i use the alternative and all the path


Warning: import(SQL/Parser.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/virtual/site18/fst/var/www/html/dataface/config.inc.php on line 223

Fatal error: import(): Failed opening required 'SQL/Parser.php' (include_path='.:/home/virtual/site18/fst/var/www/html/dataface:/home/virtual/site18/fst/var/www/html/dataface/lib:/php/includes:/usr/share/php') in /home/virtual/site18/fst/var/www/html/dataface/config.inc.php on line 223

Note: i change the ubication of the directory dataface, i deleted php directory

by the way, is there something i need to check with the guy is hosting me?, because i don see anything else to do.

thanks

Jacobo
j70861
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Postby fbermudez » Mon Aug 28, 2006 12:54 am

Hi Jacobo:

I bet you're quite frustrated right now.... hold on, it's really worth it....
I ran into some problems myself, some looked a bit like yours, so I'll try to help you.

First of all, when I unzipped my .tar file, I got the OK from my server, but it hadn«t unzipped ALL the files correctly, and I was getting specifically the error:

Warning: import(SQL/Parser/wrapper.php) [function.import]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/cfpastat/public_html/df/config.inc.php on line 213

It's pretty much what you're getting. Worth checking.

It was just that the wrapper.php file wasn«t there due to the uncomplete unzip procedure. I had repeated the unzipped and it failed again. So I unzipped in my PC and manually uploaded what had failed... A pain in the neck, but at the end I made sure that I had all the files. Besides, many times it's a lot easier to work with file at the PC level and if needed upload to the server.

Another thing: That URL you have set "...museotamayo_org_-_prueba/index.php" I would get rid of the "-". From my DOS times, some special characters sometimes don«t work.

Another thing to check:

You have to fix the index.php definitions. You have doubled somehow the URL /home/virtual/site18/fst/var/www/html/dataface:

(include_path='.:/home/virtual/site18/fst/var/www/html/dataface:/home/virtual/site18/fst/var/www/html/dataface/lib:/php/includes:/usr/share/php') in /home/virtual/site18/fst/var/www/html/dataface/config.inc.php on line 223

At some point you had:
require_once '/var/www/html/php/dataface/dataface-public-api.php';
df_init(__FILE__, 'http://www.museotamayo.org/php/dataface/');

Dataface will add http://www.museotamayo.org/php/dataface/ (from df_init) and /var/www/html/php/dataface/dataface-public-api.php (from require once) and that doubles it, since http://www.museotamayo.org is the same as /var/www/html

I would set my index.php something like this:

require_once '../dataface-public-api.php';
df_init(__FILE__, 'http://museotamayo.org/df');

and then have the following directory structure:

..my path to dataface../df --> this is where the dataface-public-api.php and config.inc.php files should be.
..my path to dataface../df --> this is where all the Dataface folders should be (Dataface, HTML, SQL, ...)
..my path to dataface../df --> you should create your application folder (/pruebas)
..my path to dataface../df/pruebas --> here you should have your index.php, conf.ini, files and your folders.

That way I access my application on internet through http://museotamayo.org/df/pruebas/index.php

Finally, yes there are a few things you should check with your hosting...

Make sure of the versions running in your server,

Requirements
* PHP >= 4.3
* MySQL >= 3.2.3

from Dataface Documentation http://framework.weblite.ca/documentation/tutorial/getting_started/introduction
that is something I fell into too, and I had to change hostings, which by the way was easy and save me a few bucks.

Makesure your site has "register_globals=On"

And there is another thing, that you've probably done allready following Dataface's installation manual which is to verify the permissions: CHMODing the indicated folder (Although I'm quite sure that wouldn't be the issue right now)

Hope this helps Jacobo...

FB
fbermudez
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Postby Aoirthoir » Thu Sep 21, 2006 12:38 pm

Mr. Steve,

Most of the suggestions in this post seem viable except for one which I will address. So for the ones that are correct I am summarizing them as:

1. Path Issue..make sure your dataface paths are correct in index.php.

2. Unzip Issue..make sure you have all of the Dataface files.

3. Hyphen Issue..be careful about a hyphen in a file name being mistaken for an option (in linux this is resolved by setting your last option as -- then all hyphens from that point on are considered part of a file... or one can do \- instead of just -. Not sure if this matters in Dataface or not.

4. Permission issue. templates must be writable. Some folks are having to do 777, though this is probably not actually required.

5. register_globals must be set to on.


Now the last thing suggested is the path to the app as path/to/dataface/path/to/app. When the app itself should be in an entirely different directory more like mypath/path.to.dataface/ and mypath/path.to.app/

Hope I have these accurately described.

Thank you kindly.
Aoirthoir
 
Posts: 420
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Postby shannah » Thu Sep 21, 2006 1:32 pm

1, 2, and 3 are correct.

4. The templates_c directory must be writable - templates directory should not be.

5. register_globals does not havce to be set to on. In fact I recommend they are kept off for security reasons.

The path doesn't need to be in a different directory.. but it will make things easier in the long run so that you can more easily upgrade to newer versions of dataface.

-Steve
--
Steve Hannah
@shannah78 (on twitter)
sjhannah.com blog
shannah
 
Posts: 4457
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Postby Aoirthoir » Thu Sep 21, 2006 1:50 pm

Thank you kindly...
Aoirthoir
 
Posts: 420
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm


Return to Xataface Users

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests

cron
Powered by Dataface
© 2005-2007 Steve Hannah All rights reserved