ckeditor strange behavious

A place for users and developers of the Xataface to discuss and receive support.

ckeditor strange behavious

Postby ngms27 » Tue Jan 08, 2013 9:06 am

I've started testing ckeditor 0.3.1 and get some strange behaviour when I click the button for Bold text:
Capture.JPG
Bold button pressed
Capture.JPG (33.67 KiB) Viewed 14539 times


i.e. Erroneous characters appear.

Now if I delete the erroneous characters and add some txt I get an error on save:
Capture1.JPG
Capture1.JPG (44.03 KiB) Viewed 14539 times


Any ideas on what this is?
ngms27
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:18 am

Re: ckeditor strange behavious

Postby shannah » Tue Jan 08, 2013 9:30 am

Is there anything in the javascript error log that offers a clue?
Note: For debugging purposes, it might make your life easier to turn on JavascriptTool debugging by adding the following to your conf.ini file:
Code: Select all
[Dataface_JavascriptTool]
    debug=1



This turns off minification so that JS error logs will be easier to trace back to the suspect code.

-Steve
--
Steve Hannah
@shannah78 (on twitter)
sjhannah.com blog
shannah
 
Posts: 4457
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Re: ckeditor strange behavious

Postby ngms27 » Wed Jan 09, 2013 2:13 am

Ok I've turned this option on but where do I find the Javascript error log?
ngms27
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:18 am

Re: ckeditor strange behavious

Postby shannah » Wed Jan 09, 2013 10:02 am

The javascript error log would be in your browser.

Instructions for Chrome: https://developers.google.com/chrome-de ... cs/console

Other browsers will have different ways to get there. Chrome (IMHO) has the best Javascript logging and debugging capabilities.

-Steve
--
Steve Hannah
@shannah78 (on twitter)
sjhannah.com blog
shannah
 
Posts: 4457
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Re: ckeditor strange behavious

Postby ngms27 » Thu Jan 10, 2013 2:58 am

No errors or anything being posted.
Hitting the B Bold button downloads nothing from the web server either.
ngms27
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:18 am

Re: ckeditor strange behavious

Postby ngms27 » Fri Jan 11, 2013 8:27 am

I get the error even if Bold isn't selected.

However simply highlighting some text then hitting save makes it work!
ngms27
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:18 am

Re: ckeditor strange behavious

Postby ngms27 » Wed Jan 16, 2013 9:45 am

Some further info re the bug.

If I click on the save icon in ckeditor it works a treat.
If I click on the Xataface Save button I get the aformentioned error unless I put the cursor back in the edit Window and then press the Xataface save button again.
ngms27
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:18 am


Return to Xataface Users

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
Powered by Dataface
© 2005-2007 Steve Hannah All rights reserved