Installation Issues

A place for users and developers of the Xataface to discuss and receive support.

Postby wolfe » Thu Jun 22, 2006 6:57 pm

Greetings Datafacers,

I was successful getting Dataface going on my desktop using localhost. When I setup my site on my isp (islandnet.com), 'database_info.php' checks out okay (http://www.emdrcanada.com/dataface/dataface_info.php) but trying to actually get my site going I get the following error:

Warning: main(Dataface/PermissionsTool.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /data/in/w/wilensky/www/dataface/Dataface/Application.php on line 92

Fatal error: main(): Failed opening required 'Dataface/PermissionsTool.php' (include_path='.:/data/etc/php') in /data/in/w/wilensky/www/dataface/Dataface/Application.php on line 92

Islandnet php configuration is at:
https://helpdesk.islandnet.com/help/php.php

Any help is appreciated

Michael Wolfe
wolfe
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Postby shannah » Thu Jun 22, 2006 11:03 pm

Hi Michael,

It is claiming that it cannot find the PermissionsTool.php file. Double check that it is where it should be (inside the Dataface directory), and that it is readable by the web server (permissions should be at least 0644).

If this is not the issue, perhaps you can post your index.php file /conf.ini file and I can take a look.

Best regards

Steve
--
Steve Hannah
@shannah78 (on twitter)
sjhannah.com blog
shannah
 
Posts: 4457
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Postby wolfe » Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:22 pm

Greetings Steve,

'PermissionsTool.php' is in the correct folder (Dataface), and it's permissions are 0644.

=================================

'index.php' is as follows:

display();
?>

=================================

'conf.ini' as follows:

[_database]
host = "sql2.islandnet.com"
user = "michael"
password = "emdr"
name = "emdr2"

[_tables]
courses = "courses"

================================

Thanks,

Michael
wolfe
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Postby shannah » Fri Jun 23, 2006 4:24 pm

Hi Michael,

Do you have your application in a subdirectory of the dataface directory? What are the paths to the key locations. e.g.: Path to dataface directory. Path to application directory.

Best regards

Steve
--
Steve Hannah
@shannah78 (on twitter)
sjhannah.com blog
shannah
 
Posts: 4457
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Postby wolfe » Sat Jun 24, 2006 11:39 am

Hi Steve,

Paths are as follows:

Dataface Setup:

www/dataface/Dataface

Applications Subdirectories:

www/dataface/emdr2 (Contents: .htaccess, conf.ini, index.php)

www/dataface/emdr2/tables

www/dataface/emdr2/tables/courses (contents:fields.ini)

Cheers,

Michael Wolfe
wolfe
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Postby shannah » Sat Jun 24, 2006 2:00 pm

OK.. that all looks good. I think it is possible that your server has disabled the ini_set() function. Try putting:
error_reporting(E_ALL);
at the beginning of your index.php file. This will have it display notices and warnings also. Let me know if this gives you any more error messages.

-Steve
--
Steve Hannah
@shannah78 (on twitter)
sjhannah.com blog
shannah
 
Posts: 4457
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Postby wolfe » Sat Jun 24, 2006 5:19 pm

Added the line as suggested:

================
display();
?>
================

The original error message are gone and I get no error messages but am left with a blank (white) screen:

http://www.emdrcanada.com/dataface/emdr2/

Michael
wolfe
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Postby shannah » Sun Jun 25, 2006 9:53 pm

Actually, it must be:
error_reporting(E_ALL);
not
error_reporting('E_ALL');

(Note the quotes).

Also, it is possible that there are errors that are not written to the screen but are logged to the server error log. Take a look at the site's error log to see what it says.

What I do know is that there is a call to ini_set() that is failing. Dataface calls ini_set('include_path', ...) to add the dataface/lib and dataface/Dataface directories to the include path. That is failing because the error messages above don't list these in the include path. Most likely the host has disabled the ini_set() function - but there should be an error somewhere if this is the case. It seems limiting for ini_set() to be disabled because it is necessary to do quite a few things in a lot of scripts.

Anyways, all of this happens in the config.inc.php file, in case you want to try a bit of debugging.

Hope this helps a little.

Best regards

Steve
--
Steve Hannah
@shannah78 (on twitter)
sjhannah.com blog
shannah
 
Posts: 4457
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Postby wolfe » Tue Jun 27, 2006 12:33 pm

Hi Steve,

I'm going to be in touch with the folks at 'islandnet.com' to see if they can add to the discussion, I suspect that they could add a clarity that I cannot.

Thanks for your continuing efforts.

Michael

ps: Re:

Actually, it must be:
error_reporting(E_ALL);
not
error_reporting('E_ALL');

(Note the quotes).

=================

I removed the quotes and the error remains the same:


Warning: main(Dataface/PermissionsTool.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /data/in/w/wilensky/www/dataface/Dataface/Application.php on line 92

Fatal error: main(): Failed opening required 'Dataface/PermissionsTool.php' (include_path='.:/data/etc/php') in /data/in/w/wilensky/www/dataface/Dataface/Application.php on line 92

=================
wolfe
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Postby wolfe » Wed Jun 28, 2006 3:38 pm

Greetings,

It turns out, as you suggested Steve, that the include path was the issue. Islandnet has resolved the problem on their end and all seems well.

DataFace is up and running.

As an aside, I forgot to remove the error_reporting statement and when I initially ran the thing came up with a series of 'Notices', which I will insert at the end of this post. I simply removed the statement and everything seems fine.

Michael

Notices were as follows (there were over 100 of these, here are the first 4):

Notice: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /data/in/w/wilensky/www/dataface/Dataface/Table.php on line 792

Notice: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /data/in/w/wilensky/www/dataface/Dataface/Table.php on line 1030

Notice: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /data/in/w/wilensky/www/dataface/Dataface/PermissionsTool.php on line 95

Notice: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /data/in/w/wilensky/www/dataface/Dataface/PermissionsTool.php on line 97
wolfe
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Postby shannah » Wed Jun 28, 2006 5:03 pm

Hi Michael,

Glad to hear it's working. Thanks for posting the error listing. This is a bit of an annoyance with PHP ~ 4.4 in that they made the act of passing the result of functions as reference temporarily "illegal" - but left no alternative to achieve the same results. The severity of this "infraction" was reduced in PHP 5 so that it only displays if the E_STRICT errors are set to be displayed - For PHP 4.4 it defaults to E_NOTICE (which is included with E_ALL). In any case, I've been through the loop on this issue trying to figure out how to resolve it.. but I decided to just ignore it since PHP offers no solutions.

-Steve
--
Steve Hannah
@shannah78 (on twitter)
sjhannah.com blog
shannah
 
Posts: 4457
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Postby Entnahme » Wed Jul 12, 2006 8:32 pm

Hello all,

I shamelessly reanimate this thread with an odd installation issue. When I try to access any of the dataface php-scripts via http, the source code is shown instead being executed. Running the scripts in the shell works fine. Although this sounds like a messed up server installation, other php software such as mediawiki, phpchat, and phpmyadmin run on the same server without any problems (lfs based linux 2.6, php-5.1.2/4, dataface-0.5.4, apache 2.2). An installation on a windows box worked without any problems. I understand that this doesnt seem to be a dataface problem, but I would highly appreciate to hear if somebody else had this problem. Did anyone stumble over something similar, are there incompatibilities to the software versions I use? Otherwise, thank you very much for dataface, keep up the good work.

regards,
Aaron
Entnahme
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Postby shannah » Wed Jul 12, 2006 9:35 pm

Hi Aaron,

If you are referring to the makesite script, then this is the normal behavior. Your server is most likely set up to only process scripts ending in '.php' using the php interpreter. Otherwise it will just output the scripts as text.

The makesite script can only be used in shell. If you don't have shell access then you would have to do the manual install (which quite frankly is almost as easy as the makesite script).

If this is not the issue, then possibly some more specifics on the names of the files and the urls that your are entering into your browser to get these results will help to find the issue.

Best regards

Steve
--
Steve Hannah
@shannah78 (on twitter)
sjhannah.com blog
shannah
 
Posts: 4457
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Postby Aoirthoir » Thu Jul 13, 2006 6:41 am

Also if none of the dataface php files are running then it is probably a path issue. Sometimes web servers are set up to only run programs (like php scripts) from specified directories. I had this issue with XAMP. I could not just put my php docs in the htdocs folder. Instead I had to put them instead the XAMP folder IN the htdocs folder. This is a security feature to make sure that someone cannot run programs from just anywhere.. So if this is the case you need to contact your web hosting provider to find out which folder to place your scripts in. Or if you are running your own server, you need to check with the documentation. As I said in XAMP it is the htdocs/XAMP folder.

It could also be that the web server allows for running scripts in any folder but the folder itself is not executable. If your web hosting provider is running their web server on linux this can happen. The solution in that case is to shell in, go to the parent directory of dataface and run this command:

chmod +x datafacedirectoryname

Hope one of these helps
Aoirthoir
 
Posts: 420
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Postby Entnahme » Thu Jul 13, 2006 3:12 pm

Hi again,

thank you very much for your quick responses.

No, it is not the directory settings. The other php applications are as well in subdirectories of the same document root. I copied single scripts from the mediawiki over, they are interpreted as expected.

The makesite script works just fine, but not the *.php stuff. For example, when I call http://xxx/dataface/dataface_info.php, I get the html table rendered as expected but parts of the introductory php section as text (some parts are of course misunderstood as tags). When I however change the opening < ? to < ?php (no space, of course) that part is interpreted correctly, but the table is empty. Changing then i.e.

< ?=$dataface_path.'/Dataface/templates_c'?>

to

< ?php print $datafac\
e_path.'/Dataface/templates_c'?>

does the trick. Why doesn't the server "understand" that this is php? I'm really lost here...

Thank you in advance for any hints,
Aaron
Entnahme
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Next

Return to Xataface Users

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests

cron
Powered by Dataface
© 2005-2007 Steve Hannah All rights reserved