Page 1 of 1

Problem with checkbox, repeat

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 9:37 pm
by jonbfl
Hello all

JonB is new to Xataface, but I'm having a grand time already.

I built a sample database of my own to test with. Something pretty simple, a quotations gizmo with quotes and their authors. I've been able to get sveral kinds of lookups working OK; a simple SQL id lookup that uses the returned nominal field (great) and a vocabulary-based valuelist with a select. Yippee!

What I haven't been able to get working is a 'repeat' type vocabulary.

In my 'authors' table I have a varchar(60) column called 'author_profession'.

here's my ini files for table 'authors':

fields.ini

[idauthors]
widget:label = "Record #"
[author_profession]
widget:type = checkbox
widget:label = "Profession"
widget:vocabulary = Profession
repeat = 1

valuelists.ini

[Profession]
AUT = Author
PHI = Philospher
SCI = Scientist
CRI = Criminal
POL = Politician
MIS = Miscreant
UNK = Unkown
PUN = Pundit
MIL = Military
OTH = Other

I know the files are working as I have been experimenting with other parameters, I just can't get the multiline checkbox to work.

What I actaully get is a single literal checkbox. :shock:

What am I missing here???

Thanks for any advice
8)

I forgot - I'm using the newest xataface version on 32bit Fedora 15 Linux. :oops:

Re: Problem with checkbox, repeat

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 11:59 pm
by Jean
Hello Jon,
You need a separator :
Code: Select all
widget:separator="
"


Jean

Re: Problem with checkbox, repeat

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 9:21 am
by shannah
Actually, it should just be
Code: Select all
vocabulary=Profession

not
Code: Select all
widget:vocabulary=Profession


-Steve

Re: Problem with checkbox, repeat

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2011 6:22 am
by jonbfl
OK thanks

doh - I see it now, Steve.

I'll give it a whirl when I go to work today, I expect that will fix things up.

Thanks very much
(I'm about to post my next 'little issue', LOL -- I hope it won't be as trivial))

8)