Page 1 of 1

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 10:12 am
by tbabinszki
I just started using DataFace, and I have had a major problem at the beginning, which seemed to be strange.
When I set up the first test database, according to the documentation, I cannot add records.
The MYSQL table looks like:
CREATE TABLE `main` (
`tableID` int(11) NOT NULL auto_increment,
`First name` varchar(32) NOT NULL default '',
`Last name` varchar(32) NOT NULL default '',
PRIMARY KEY (`tableID`)
) TYPE=MyISAM AUTO_INCREMENT=1 ;

Conf.ini looks like:
[_database]
host = "xxx"
user = "xxx"
password = "xxx"
name = "test"

[_tables]
main = "main"

index.php looks like:
display();
?>

Also, note that I am using a 1and1 service provider, with remote MYSQL server. First, I got an error that DF cannot create directory. Then, I created templates_C (sorry if misspelled, there it is created correctly), which resolved that error.
So, I'm wondering, are there other things that DF wants to create for me that it cannot? In theory, it should have writing abilities.

When I run index.php everything comes up fine, but the records which I add, either don't show up, or I get a form where it says first and last names are required fields, while I always fill them in.

I also tried to run the same thing on a local windows based web server, using XAMPP. It all went well, until I clicked on "new record", when the Apache came back with a windows error, "send, don't send, debug, etc.".
There I wasn't able to test any further, and for some reason I cannot install a new web server without windows errors. However, if possible, I would like to use my 1and1 service anyway.

Thank you for your help.

Tamas

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 12:26 pm
by shannah
Hi Tamas,

One unusual thing about your table is that you are using spaces in the column names. Because this is uncommon (I wasn't even aware that mysql allowed spaces in its column names) it is possible that some of the code in dataface assumes no spaces. Hence, try changing your `First name` and `Last name` fields to `First_name` and `Last_name` respectively.

-Steve

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 1:04 pm
by tbabinszki
Thank you, this works. You can tell the level of my MYSQL knowledge, and I would still maintain my statement that the documentation really makes sense.
Thanks for helping out.

Tamas