Page 1 of 1

PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 9:43 am
by rsp
Hello again. I'm trying to figure out the best way to display the images I will have for each record. I tried using the blob method, but I don't want images to open in a new window and it didn't work for me anyway. (something about MIME permissions?) I've abandoned that blob thing now because even if it worked, I want the images to appear on the page. I think I should be able to upload them and even position them using the fckeditor, but I can't make that work either. It won't just upload from my PC. On the upload tab it says "Send it to the Server," but it doesn't say where and then nothing happens. On the image info tab it has a button for Browse Server, so I made a directory and put the image there. Another larger window opens up and it seems useless because the dropdown doesn't drop down to let me search the server.

I'm lost.

PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 11:23 am
by rsp
ahhh. I think I am figuring it out. You have to edit some files in the fckeditor to turn that functionality on.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2007 12:26 pm
by shannah
Yes.. I haven't done anything to tie the FCKEditor uploading functionality into dataface. If you get something working on your end, please post it so that others can benefit from your explorations.

Thanks

Steve

PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 10:53 am
by rsp
The following are the things I remember I did. These adjustments enabled image upload from my PC to the specified folder on the server, but still I cannot browse the server using the "Browse Server" button. (I'm not certain I even want to be able to do that, really, and I am sure I do *not* want my users to be able to do that freely, but it is annoying not knowing how to enable it if I did want to.)

lib/FCKeditor/fckconfig.js

// The following value defines which File Browser connector and Quick Upload
// "uploader" to use. It is valid for the default implementaion and it is here
// just to make this configuration file cleaner.
// It is not possible to change this value using an external file or even
// inline when creating the editor instance. In that cases you must set the
// values of LinkBrowserURL, ImageBrowserURL and so on.
// Custom implementations should just ignore it.
var _FileBrowserLanguage = 'php' ; // asp | aspx | cfm | lasso | perl | php | py
var _QuickUploadLanguage = 'php' ; // asp | aspx | cfm | lasso | php

It originally said asp so I changed it to php on both lines.

**********************************
lib/FCKeditor/filemanager/browser/default/connectors/php/config.php

// SECURITY: You must explicitelly enable this "connector". (Set it to "true").
$Config['Enabled'] = true ;

// Path to user files relative to the document root.
$Config['UserFilesPath'] = '/made/a/path/to/my/application/' ;

// Fill the following value it you prefer to specify the absolute path for the
// user files directory. Usefull if you are using a virtual directory, symbolic
// link or alias. Examples: 'C:\\MySite\\UserFiles\\' or '/root/mysite/UserFiles/'.
// Attention: The above 'UserFilesPath' must point to the same directory.
$Config['UserFilesAbsolutePath'] = '/made/a/path/to/my/application/' ;

**********************************
lib/FCKeditor/filemanager/upload/php/config.php

// SECURITY: You must explicitelly enable this "uploader".
$Config['Enabled'] = true ;

// Path to uploaded files relative to the document root.
$Config['UserFilesPath'] = '/made/a/path/to/my/application/' ;

PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 11:05 am
by rsp
p.s. I found where to change all the smilies, too, in the bottom of the fckconfig.js file. :)

PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 11:21 am
by shannah

Thanks alot for this info.

Perhaps I'll modify the FCKEditor in the DF distro so that we can set these things in the fields.ini file if I can figure out a slick way to do it.

-Steve


fckeditor upload images

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 4:41 pm
by mikewassil
Please, I need help getting the path right for the fckeditor image upload to work!

If my image upload directory is here:

www.application.com/uploads/

and fckeditor is here:

www.application.com/xataface1.1.5r2/lib/FCKEditor/

What do I need in the config.php file here:

$Config['UserFilesPath'] = '' ;
$Config['UserFilesAbsolutePath'] = '' ;

I've tried every combination of paths I can think of and still get the "can't create directory" error message. The directory IS there already, but fckeditor apparently isn't finding it. No errors get written to the server log, so I am presuming it is strictly a fckeditor problem. Much appreciate anyone's help. Thanks.

Michael

Re: fckeditor upload images

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2009 1:09 pm
by mikewassil
mikewassil wrote:Please, I need help getting the path right for the fckeditor image upload to work!

If my image upload directory is here:

www.application.com/uploads/

and fckeditor is here:

www.application.com/xataface1.1.5r2/lib/FCKEditor/

What do I need in the config.php file here:

$Config['UserFilesPath'] = '' ;
$Config['UserFilesAbsolutePath'] = '' ;

I've tried every combination of paths I can think of and still get the "can't create directory" error message. The directory IS there already, but fckeditor apparently isn't finding it. No errors get written to the server log, so I am presuming it is strictly a fckeditor problem. Much appreciate anyone's help. Thanks.

Michael


I found the solution on the FCKEditor forum:

$Config['UserFilesPath'] = 'http://'.$_SERVER['HTTP_HOST'].'/uploads/' ;
$Config['UserFilesAbsolutePath'] = $_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'].'/uploads/' ;

Uploads are working perfectly now! Here's the link if you want all the details:

http://www.fckeditor.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=9659&p=35333&hilit=+upload+image+path#p35333