significant bug for static fields (0.5.3rc2)

A place for users and developers of the Xataface to discuss and receive support.

Postby shiraz » Thu May 11, 2006 10:00 pm

Setting a field to static in fields.ini causes it to lose its value when updating the record. To isolate the bug, I:

- tested after removing my own delegate class file

- tested after making "widget:type = "static" the _only_ property I set for the record

and the problem remained.


Cheers,

Shiraz

ps. is there somewhere better I should be sharing these bugs?
shiraz
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Postby shannah » Fri May 12, 2006 10:19 am

Can you post the schema for the table and let me know which field this was happening on. In general I cannot seem to repeat this behavior, so it is likely a combination of a few factors (e.g., type of field, whether it is a primary key, etc...).

As far as bugs go, you can post them here, or in the bug tracker on sourceforge.

-Steve
--
Steve Hannah
@shannah78 (on twitter)
sjhannah.com blog
shannah
 
Posts: 4457
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Postby shiraz » Fri May 12, 2006 4:35 pm

Sure, thanks for looking into this Shannah!

This is happening on the "Created_By" field. This is what it currently looks like in fields.ini:

[Created_By]
;widget:type = "static"
group = "Database/Website_Stats"
widget:label = "Created by:"
widget:description = "Do NOT modify!"

I had to comment out the static setting to prevent the problem. I tried using static without quotes, as well as taking it out of the group, and removing the label and description, but the problem remained.

Here's the table schema:

+------------------------+------------------+------+-----+---------------------+----------------+
| Field | Type | Null | Key | Default | Extra |
+------------------------+------------------+------+-----+---------------------+----------------+
| MasterID | int(11) | | PRI | NULL | auto_increment |
| LastNameFirstName | varchar(60) | YES | | NULL | |
| First_Name | varchar(30) | | | | |
| Last_Name | varchar(30) | | | | |
| Website_Username | varchar(32) | YES | | NULL | |
| Website_Screenname | varchar(32) | YES | | NULL | |
| Website_Password | varchar(32) | YES | | NULL | |
| Email | varchar(50) | | | | |
| Mailing_List | enum('yes','no') | YES | | NULL | |
| Website_Group | int(3) | YES | | NULL | |
| Home_Phone | varchar(13) | YES | | NULL | |
| Cell_Phone | varchar(13) | YES | | NULL | |
| Business_Phone | varchar(13) | YES | | NULL | |
| Fax | varchar(13) | YES | | NULL | |
| Reference_Source | varchar(20) | YES | | NULL | |
| Reference_Person | varchar(60) | YES | MUL | NULL | |
| Reference_Other | varchar(100) | YES | | NULL | |
| Website | varchar(50) | YES | | NULL | |
| Birthday | date | YES | | NULL | |
| Profession | varchar(20) | YES | MUL | NULL | |
| Address | varchar(45) | YES | | NULL | |
| City | varchar(20) | YES | MUL | NULL | |
| Province_State | varchar(20) | YES | | NULL | |
| Country | varchar(20) | YES | | NULL | |
| Postal_Code | varchar(10) | YES | | NULL | |
| Note | longtext | YES | | NULL | |
| Payments_Overdue_Count | smallint(3) | YES | | NULL | |
| Website_ID | int(10) | YES | | NULL | |
| last_visit | datetime | YES | | NULL | |
| total_entries | smallint(5) | YES | | NULL | |
| total_comments | smallint(5) | YES | | NULL | |
| last_entry_date | date | YES | | NULL | |
| last_comment_date | date | YES | | 0000-00-00 | |
| Created_By | varchar(30) | YES | | NULL | |
| Date_Created | datetime | YES | | 1800-01-01 00:00:00 | |
| Last_Modified_By | varchar(30) | YES | | NULL | |
| Date_Last_Modified | datetime | YES | | 1800-01-01 00:00:00 | |
+------------------------+------------------+------+-----+---------------------+----------------+

It would be really interesting to me if you could not replicate the problem. I would perhaps try recreating the whole table.

Cheers,

Shiraz
shiraz
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Postby shiraz » Mon May 15, 2006 12:24 am

Created_By | varchar(30) | YES | | NULL | |
shiraz
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Postby shannah » Mon May 15, 2006 9:45 am

Hi Shiraz,

I have fixed this problem for 0.6 (i believe), which was supposed to be released tomorrow. However, I'm running behind on its release. I would tell you where to fix it in the code, but it was a deeply rooted problem that required changes to multiple files, so it is a little complex to explain here.

-Steve
--
Steve Hannah
@shannah78 (on twitter)
sjhannah.com blog
shannah
 
Posts: 4457
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Postby shiraz » Mon May 15, 2006 8:14 pm

oh that's GREAT that you were able to fix it Shannah! I'm not in a huge rush for the fix, I can wait til 0.6! Thanks for all your hard work! Are you paid by SFU for this?
shiraz
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm

Postby shannah » Tue May 16, 2006 1:54 pm

>Are you paid by SFU for this?

I am not paid by SFU for this, but I am paid for my work for SFU, enough so that I can carry out my hobbies on my own time without having to worry about my food or shelter :) Of course, this is all towards a greater purpose, as a "better" dataface means a more productive me for consulting etc..

Best regards

Steve
--
Steve Hannah
@shannah78 (on twitter)
sjhannah.com blog
shannah
 
Posts: 4457
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm


Return to Xataface Users

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 36 guests

cron
Powered by Dataface
© 2005-2007 Steve Hannah All rights reserved