max_limit hack

A place to discuss development of the Xataface core.

max_limit hack

Postby Cat » Thu Oct 28, 2010 10:31 pm

Hi together,

I'm rather new to Xataface, but seems I got it up and running. Looks like a great app, so congrats to the developers. I've quickly loaded the Wikileaks Iraq War Reports into Xataface, thought Xataface would be like designed for doing so. If someone likes to see how Xataface may look like with the 391832 records inside running on a tiny little box, one may find it here:

http://www.mein-parteibuch.org/iraqwar/

I welcome all ideas to make it better.

What I found "a little bit strange" was that the -limit parameter seems to be neither checked nor can it be restricted, so when a public internet user enters a high value or just an alphabetic char like a in the limit box or into the -limit part of the URI, then the server starts to become very busy for a while and then xataface crashes because it runs out of memory.

It seems to be that someone here in the forum had remarked this behaviour some years before already, too:

Dataface Max Records List?

I don't know, if that problem was addressed before, but I didn't find an option to configure something like a max_limit config parameter out of the box. However a tiny hack into Dataface/Application.php seems to bring this feature almost perfectly. I just added a bit of code just down of line 653 in Dataface/Application.php:

Code: Select all
//this line already exists in Xataface Version 1.25
  if ( !isset( $query['-limit'] )) $query['-limit'] = $this->_conf['default_limit'];

//these lines the Parteibuch Cat addded here to Xataface Version 1.25
   $query['-limit'] = intval(abs($query['-limit']));
   if($query['-limit'] == 0) $query['-limit'] = 1;
   if (isset($this->_conf['max_limit']) && $query['-limit'] > $this->_conf['max_limit']) {
      $query['-limit'] = $this->_conf['max_limit'];
   }

What I did then, is that I put at the top of conf.ini a new directive:

max_limit = 100