relationships - restrictions (roadmap)

A place to discuss development of the Xataface core.

Postby datajunkie » Fri Oct 05, 2007 11:43 am

Hi there,

i am new to dataface, seems to be very interesting, specually because some of my colleagues uses dataface.
I found at the beginners tutorial :
The WHERE clause of your SQL definition for the relationship must contain only '=' comparisons, and 'AND' conjunctions. i.e., it cannot receive an 'OR' conjunction, nor can comparisons be done using '>', or '<'. This is because given 'AND' and '=' conjunctions it is easy for dataface to be able to add records that will satisfy the relationship. If an 'OR' conjunction is used, it makes it ambiguous (though this will probably be corrected in future dataface releases.

Since i usually have database sets where this would be a severe restriction:
Will more flexible relationship-definitions possible in the future, and when?
datajunkie

Postby shannah » Fri Oct 05, 2007 12:05 pm

Hi Markus,

This one this one had sort of flown off my radar because I haven't had a need for this support in relationships, however it wouldn't be that difficult to add. In fact I think that relationships may still work with one of these operators - you just wouldn't be able to add records to the relationship using the "Add related record" button (i haven't tested this, so I'm not sure if it will object at some point).

The solution that will eventually enable support for this would involve the add related record forms to allow the user to specify values for the fields involved in the OR clauses, but would have to be constrained to only certain values.

This feature is not in the next release (0.8) and I'm not certain when I will have a chance to add it unless a client requests the feature, or it is needed for another purpose.

-Steve
--
Steve Hannah
@shannah78 (on twitter)
sjhannah.com blog
shannah

Re: relationships - restrictions (roadmap)

Postby cparod » Thu May 20, 2010 1:09 pm

Hi,